Thursday, June 12, 2014

Independence 116: Mabuhay ang Pilipinas

A horizontal bicolor of blue over red, with a white equilateral triangle at the hoist containing three, 5-pointed gold stars at its vertices, and an 8-rayed gold sun at its center.

June 12, 1898 Declaration of Emilio Aguinaldo during the Philippine revolution against spain.


The blue colour of the Philippine flag is the symbol for peace, truth, and justice. The red is the symbol for patriotism and valour. The white triangle is the symbol for equality and fraternity. It is also symbolize the Katipunan, the secret Filipino society who stands against the Spanish rule. The three golden stars in the corners of the triangle, represent the three major group of island in the Philippines, namely the Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. The golden sun at the center of the triangle is the symbol for unity, freedom, people's democracy, and sovereignty. The sun has eight rays around it. Each ray represents one of the first eight provinces that started the 1896 Philippine revolution against Spanish colony. These provinces are Manila, Cavite, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Laguna and Batangas.

Design by Elpidio Quirino and Manuel L. Quezon in 1936

The official Philippine Flag is rectangular in form with an aspect ratio of 1:2, meaning the length of the flag is twice longer than its width. It has a horizontal band of two colours of equal size, having on top is the royal blue and red at the bottom. The left end (viewer’s left) of the flag has a white equilateral triangle (3-sides equal to the width of the flag) which inside has symbols of 3-stars at each corner and a sun having 8-rays is in the center of the triangle.

The day i visit Luneta Philippines i took the chance to have a shot in this monument. Im proud Filipina!!

Pilipinas kung Mahal.....

No comments:

Post a Comment